Become
a Member
Normal
Institute of Contemporary Arts

Normal, Dir. Adele Tulli, Italy 2019, 67 min., Italian with English subtitles

Through a series of wry and acerbic vignettes, Italian filmmaker Adele Tulli’s Normal playfully exposes the spectacle of gender in our everyday lives. Featuring quotidian scenes shot throughout Italy, the film observes individuals – from childhood to adulthood – navigating normative gendered behaviour. In exploring the relational choreographies we act out on a daily basis, Normal reveals how the conditioning expectations of gender shape our smallest actions – affecting our gestures, desires, behaviours and aspirations. Through intimate and at times satirical observations, Normal asks us to consider where our gendered performances end and our ‘real’ selves begin.

This is an ICA CINEMA Distribution project. The film is now available for theatrical bookings.
 
03:00 pm
Sat, 28 Sep 2019
Cinema 1
07:00 pm
Sat, 28 Sep 2019
Cinema 1
02:45 pm
Sun, 29 Sep 2019
Cinema 1
03:00 pm
Tue, 01 Oct 2019
Cinema 1
06:45 pm
Tue, 01 Oct 2019
Cinema 1
03:00 pm
Wed, 02 Oct 2019
Cinema 1
08:00 pm
Wed, 02 Oct 2019
Cinema 2
08:45 pm
Thu, 03 Oct 2019
Cinema 2
05:00 pm
Sat, 05 Oct 2019
Cinema 2
05:00 pm
Sun, 06 Oct 2019
Cinema 2
05:00 pm
Mon, 07 Oct 2019
Cinema 2
08:30 pm
Tue, 08 Oct 2019
Cinema 2
12:30 pm
Sun, 13 Oct 2019
Cinema 2

£13 Full, £11 Concs/Green, £7 Blue Members. 

Tuesdays + weekday matinees: £8 Full, £5 Concs/Blue/Green Members.

The opening screening on Friday 27 September is followed by a Q&A with director Adule Tulli.

All films are ad-free and 18+ unless otherwise stated. Groups are advised to arrive early as seating is unallocated.

Red Membership includes free access to all programmes for £16.66 / month.

Download PDF