We’re introducing Night Mode … Try it out with the sun/moon icon at the top left. Or change font settings with the ‘A’ to make the site work for you.
Got it
ICA is closed from the 30 May – 2 June inclusive.
0 / 256
Variety
Institute of Contemporary Arts
a person looks out of a window whilst on the phone, the reflections of neon lights are across their face
Variety, dir. Bette Gordon, USA 1983, 100 min., English.


Bette Gordon’s Variety follows Christine (Sandy McLeod), who takes up a job as a ticket seller in a New York porn theatre, gradually forming a fascination with the films playing and the clientele visiting.

She decides to go on a date with Louie (Richard Davidson), one of the venue’s more suspect regulars, gradually coming to believe he’s involved with the mafia as she flies closer and closer to the flame.

What emerges is a story of obsession and female sexual awakening, backed by a small galaxy of American indie talent, many of whom emerged from the late ’70s/early ’80s New York No Wave scene that cross-pollinated across film, music, photography and art: cinematographer Tom DiCillo, actor Luis Guzmán, music by John Lurie, and a small role for Nan Goldin (most recently seen in Venice Festival winning documentary All the Beauty and the Bloodshed).

 
06:45 pm
Fri, 11 Aug 2023
Cinema 1
06:45 pm
Sat, 12 Aug 2023
Cinema 1
02:00 pm
Sun, 13 Aug 2023
Cinema 1
08:00 pm
Sun, 13 Aug 2023
Cinema 2
08:30 pm
Tue, 15 Aug 2023
Cinema 1
06:30 pm
Wed, 16 Aug 2023
Cinema 2
09:20 pm
Thu, 17 Aug 2023
Cinema 1
06:20 pm
Fri, 18 Aug 2023
Cinema 1
02:15 pm
Sat, 19 Aug 2023
Cinema 1
04:20 pm
Tue, 22 Aug 2023
Cinema 1
04:30 pm
Wed, 23 Aug 2023
Cinema 1
09:00 pm
Thu, 24 Aug 2023
Cinema 1
12:20 pm
Fri, 25 Aug 2023
Cinema 2

Red Members gain unlimited access to all exhibitions, films, talks, performances and Cinema 3.
Join today for £20/month.