0 / 256
The Hand of God (È stata la mano di Dio)
Institute of Contemporary Arts
October 2022
The Hand of God (È stata la mano di Dio), dir. Paolo Sorrentino, Italy  2021, 130 min., Italian with English subtitles, 15


Winner of the Grand Jury Prize at this year’s Venice International Film Festival, Paolo Sorrentino’s semi-autobiographical coming-of-age drama is an evocative trip back to Naples during the heady days and volatile nights of the 1980s.

Fabio (Filippo Scotti, in a performance that won the Marcello Mastroianni Award at Venice) is a teenage boy fighting to find his place in the world. The youngster is cushioned by his loving family, and he’s thrilled by the new signing made by his city’s underachieving football team: Diego Maradona. But when unimaginable tragedy strikes, Fabio is forced to find a new way to live – and dream himself a new future. Sorrentino (The Great Beauty, The Young Pope) draws excellent performances across the board in this potent and deeply personal drama.
 
06:10 pm
Fri, 03 Dec 2021
Cinema 2
09:00 pm
Sat, 04 Dec 2021
Cinema 2
09:00 pm
Sun, 05 Dec 2021
Cinema 1
08:45 pm
Tue, 07 Dec 2021
Cinema 1
06:20 pm
Wed, 08 Dec 2021
Cinema 2
06:45 pm
Thu, 09 Dec 2021
Cinema 2
09:20 pm
Fri, 10 Dec 2021
Cinema 2
08:30 pm
Sun, 12 Dec 2021
Cinema 2
03:25 pm
Wed, 15 Dec 2021
Cinema 1
09:20 pm
Thu, 16 Dec 2021
Cinema 2
Red Members gain unlimited FREE access to all exhibitions, films, talks, concerts and performances. Join today for £20/month

All films are ad-free and 18+ unless otherwise stated, and start with a 10 min. curated selection of trailers.

Red Members gain unlimited access to all exhibitions, films, talks, performances and Cinema 3.
Join today for £20/month.