0 / 256
Cow
Institute of Contemporary Arts
November 2022
Cow, dir. Andrea Arnold, United Kingdom 2021, 94 min., English


Andrea Arnold made her name with outstanding dramas such as Wasp, which won the Academy Award for Best Short Film, and the Cannes Jury Prize-winning American Honey. And now, for Cow, Arnold turns documentarian as she immerses in the all-too-brief life of Luma, a heifer on an unremarkable dairy farm in Kent.
 
Cow tells the full story: from calving to animal-rearing, milking to grazing, life to death. There’s no voiceover, narration or talking-head interviews to provide context – it’s just us, Luma and her cohort of companions down on the farm. In this unexpectedly involving film, Arnold simply invites us to see the world as Luma sees it – and to consider both our place in and our relationship with the natural world.

The ICA screens a Preview of the film on Sunday 9 January.
 
09:05 pm
Fri, 14 Jan 2022
Cinema 2
09:05 pm
Sat, 15 Jan 2022
Cinema 2
09:30 pm
Sun, 16 Jan 2022
Cinema 1
09:00 pm
Tue, 18 Jan 2022
Cinema 2
09:00 pm
Wed, 19 Jan 2022
Cinema 2
09:00 pm
Thu, 20 Jan 2022
Cinema 2
01:25 pm
Fri, 21 Jan 2022
Cinema 1
02:50 pm
Sat, 22 Jan 2022
Cinema 2
12:55 pm
Sun, 23 Jan 2022
Cinema 1
02:15 pm
Tue, 25 Jan 2022
Cinema 2
09:00 pm
Wed, 26 Jan 2022
Cinema 2
12:40 pm
Thu, 27 Jan 2022
Cinema 2
12:15 pm
Sun, 30 Jan 2022
Cinema 2
01:30 pm
Wed, 02 Feb 2022
Cinema 2
Weekday matinees: £8 Full, £6 Concessions, £4 Green/Blue Members

Red Members gain unlimited FREE access to all exhibitions, films, talks, concerts and performances. Join today for £20/month

Face coverings are compulsory in the Cinemas. More on COVID-19 safety

All films are ad-free and 18+ unless otherwise stated, and start with a 10 min. curated selection of trailers.

Red Members gain unlimited access to all exhibitions, films, talks, performances and Cinema 3.
Join today for £20/month.