Become an ICA Member or gift it to someone you love
Art & Mind
Institute of Contemporary Arts

Art & Mind, Dir. Amélie Ravalec, UK, 2019, 70 min., English and French with English subtitles


The emergence of the unconscious inspired Romantic artists to explore the hidden realms of dreams and visions in their art. Emerging psychology theories of Sigmund Freud and his contemporaries later became a major source of inspiration for the Surrealists. 

This thoroughly-researched documentary explores the relationship between art and the unconscious, featuring over 350 artworks from museums and collections worldwide including Tate Britain, Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris, Prinzhorn Collection, Rijksmuseum, La Halle Saint Pierre, ABCD Collection, Outsider Art Fair, Wellcome Collection, Bethlem Museum of the Mind, Lombroso Museum, Freud Museum, MAHHSA, Lille Métropole Museum of Contemporary and Outsider Art, Maisons Victor Hugo, Adamson Collection, Museum Dr Guislain, Henry Boxer Gallery and Museum im Lagerhaus.
 
09:00 pm
Sat, 27 Apr 2019
Cinema 1
02:45 pm
Sun, 28 Apr 2019
Cinema 2
04:30 pm
Sun, 28 Apr 2019
Cinema 1
09:00 pm
Sun, 28 Apr 2019
Cinema 1
04:30 pm
Tue, 30 Apr 2019
Cinema 1
09:00 pm
Tue, 30 Apr 2019
Cinema 1
02:20 pm
Wed, 01 May 2019
Cinema 2
04:30 pm
Wed, 01 May 2019
Cinema 1
09:00 pm
Wed, 01 May 2019
Cinema 1
04:30 pm
Thu, 02 May 2019
Cinema 1
09:00 pm
Thu, 02 May 2019
Cinema 1
08:50 pm
Sat, 04 May 2019
Cinema 1
09:30 pm
Sun, 05 May 2019
Cinema 1
09:00 pm
Tue, 07 May 2019
Cinema 1
09:00 pm
Wed, 08 May 2019
Cinema 1
09:05 pm
Thu, 09 May 2019
Cinema 1
04:45 pm
Sat, 11 May 2019
Cinema 1
12:30 pm
Sun, 12 May 2019
Cinema 1
02:30 pm
Fri, 17 May 2019
Cinema 2
12:50 pm
Sat, 18 May 2019
Cinema 2
02:30 pm
Wed, 22 May 2019
Cinema 2

£13 Full, £11 Concs/Green, £7 Blue Members. 

Tuesdays + weekday matinees: £8 Full, £5 Concs/Blue/Green Members.

All films are ad-free and 18+ unless otherwise stated.

All programme on Cinema 3 is free to ICA members. Join today to enjoy membership benefits.