We’re introducing Night Mode … Try it out with the sun/moon icon at the top left. Or change font settings with the ‘A’ to make the site work for you.
Got it
0 / 256
Vortex
Institute of Contemporary Arts
Vortex, dir. Gaspar Noé, France 2021, 135 min, French with English subtitles, PG

Having debuted to widespread acclaim at the Cannes Film Festival, the latest feature from Gaspar Noé (Climax, Enter the Void) focuses on an elderly couple (played by Françoise Lebrun and Dario Argento) who spend their days in a Paris apartment. 

Both love and care for each other, but are grappling with the early stages of dementia. Presented in split-screen, we follow the couple as they go about their daily routines both together and alone. As everyday tasks become more challenging, forgetfulness shifts to something more troubling and their son (Alex Lutz) struggles to care for them as they enter a vortex of mental and physical degeneration. Compelling and moving in equal measure, this is a departure for Noé – but in terms of scope and ambition, it is one of his finest works to date.
 
01:15 pm
Fri, 13 May 2022
Cinema 1
08:45 pm
Fri, 13 May 2022
Cinema 1
01:15 pm
Sat, 14 May 2022
Cinema 1
09:05 pm
Sat, 14 May 2022
Cinema 2
01:15 pm
Sun, 15 May 2022
Cinema 1
09:05 pm
Sun, 15 May 2022
Cinema 2
02:20 pm
Tue, 17 May 2022
Cinema 2
08:45 pm
Tue, 17 May 2022
Cinema 1
02:20 pm
Wed, 18 May 2022
Cinema 2
08:45 pm
Wed, 18 May 2022
Cinema 1
02:20 pm
Thu, 19 May 2022
Cinema 2
08:45 pm
Thu, 19 May 2022
Cinema 1
08:30 pm
Fri, 20 May 2022
Cinema 2
08:35 pm
Sat, 21 May 2022
Cinema 2
05:15 pm
Sun, 22 May 2022
Cinema 2
08:30 pm
Tue, 24 May 2022
Cinema 2
08:45 pm
Fri, 27 May 2022
Cinema 2
09:15 pm
Sat, 28 May 2022
Cinema 2
06:45 pm
Sun, 29 May 2022
Cinema 2
08:45 pm
Wed, 01 Jun 2022
Cinema 2
01:45 pm
Thu, 02 Jun 2022
Cinema 1
03:45 pm
Fri, 03 Jun 2022
Cinema 2
08:45 pm
Sat, 04 Jun 2022
Cinema 2
08:40 pm
Sat, 11 Jun 2022
Cinema 2
01:50 pm
Wed, 15 Jun 2022
Cinema 2
Weekday matinees: £8 Full, £6 Concessions, £4 Green/Blue Members

All films are ad-free and 18+ unless otherwise stated, and start with a 10 min. curated selection of trailers.

Red Members gain unlimited access to all exhibitions, films, talks, performances and Cinema 3.
Join today for £20/month.