0 / 256
Vampyr
Institute of Contemporary Arts
February 2023
Vampyr, dir. Carl Theodor Dreyer, Germany 1932, 73 min., German with English subtitles, PG


Carl Theodor Dreyer’s first foray into sound filmmaking remains an extraordinary and unclassifiable masterpiece – a cornerstone work of the horror genre, hailed by Alfred Hitchcock as ‘The only film worth watching twice’. And now, 90 years after its creation, we’re delighted to present this brand new 2K restoration by the Danish Film Institute on the big screen. 
 
Asleep in an inn in rural France, Allan Gray (Julian West) receives an unexpected visit from an old man, who leaves a parcel with him reading ‘To be opened upon my death’. It’s the starting point for a strange and uncanny journey into a twilit world between reality and fantasy, incarnation and imagination, life and death – every bit as chilling now as it must have been in 1932, and never looking and sounding better than it does today. 
 
08:50 pm
Fri, 20 May 2022
Cinema 1
04:45 pm
Sat, 21 May 2022
Cinema 1
04:15 pm
Sun, 22 May 2022
Cinema 1
08:35 pm
Tue, 24 May 2022
Cinema 1
08:45 pm
Wed, 25 May 2022
Cinema 1
09:00 pm
Thu, 26 May 2022
Cinema 1
02:45 pm
Sat, 28 May 2022
Cinema 1
02:45 pm
Sun, 29 May 2022
Cinema 1
05:00 pm
Tue, 31 May 2022
Cinema 2
04:45 pm
Wed, 01 Jun 2022
Cinema 1
02:45 pm
Sun, 05 Jun 2022
Cinema 1
02:30 pm
Tue, 07 Jun 2022
Cinema 1
Tuesday matinees: £6, £3 Green/Blue Members

All films are ad-free and 18+ unless otherwise stated, and start with a 10 min. curated selection of trailers.

Red Members gain unlimited access to all exhibitions, films, talks, performances and Cinema 3.
Join today for £20/month.