We’re introducing Night Mode … Try it out with the sun/moon icon at the top left. Or change font settings with the ‘A’ to make the site work for you.
Got it
ICA is closed from the 30 May – 3 June inclusive.
0 / 256
Under the Fig Trees
Institute of Contemporary Arts
A young woman reaches up to pick figs from a tree
Under the Fig Trees, dir. Erige Sehiri, Tunisia / France / Switzerland / Germany / Qatar 2022, 92 min, Arabic with English Subtitles, 12A  

Over the course of one day women and men, young and old, work in a fig orchard under the watchful eye of the foreman. They are restless and eager in the summer heat, stealing away from work to catch up, gossip and flirt. Each encounter is ripe with discovery and connection. Sun-dappled and sensual, Erige Sehiri’s fiction debut captures the strength of sisterhood, promise of young love, and the sorrows of life with remarkable intimacy and tenderness.
 
06:15 pm
Fri, 19 May 2023
Cinema 2
09:20 pm
Sat, 20 May 2023
Cinema 2
12:05 pm
Sun, 21 May 2023
Cinema 2
05:30 pm
Sun, 21 May 2023
Cinema 2
06:15 pm
Tue, 23 May 2023
Cinema 2
06:15 pm
Wed, 24 May 2023
Cinema 2
05:15 pm
Thu, 25 May 2023
Cinema 2
12:45 pm
Fri, 26 May 2023
Cinema 2
08:20 pm
Sat, 27 May 2023
Cinema 2
03:00 pm
Tue, 30 May 2023
Cinema 2
04:00 pm
Wed, 31 May 2023
Cinema 1

All films are ad-free and 18+ unless otherwise stated, and start with a 10 min. curated selection of trailers.

Red Members gain unlimited access to all exhibitions, films, talks, performances and Cinema 3.
Join today for £20/month.