0 / 256
Official Competition
Institute of Contemporary Arts
December 2022
Official Competition, dir. Gastón Duprat & Mariano Cohn, Spain 2021, 115 min., Spanish with English subtitles, 15


Penélope Cruz stars as a crazed director whose methods drive all around her to madness in Gastón Duprat and Mariano Cohn’s film industry satire – a sharp-edged yet warm-hearted portrait of vanity, ego and art.

Humberto Suarez, a pharmaceutical tycoon nearing the end of his life, decides to burnish his legacy by financing a major movie. After buying the rights to a novel by Nobel laureate, he hires, as his director, the indomitable Lola Cuevas. And then Cuevas chooses revered stage actor Iván Torres and monstrous blockbuster hero Félix Rivero as her leading men – an acting marriage made in hell. A sharp script and tremendous performances help to make this a satire that really sings.
 
04:00 pm
Fri, 26 Aug 2022
Cinema 1
08:40 pm
Fri, 26 Aug 2022
Cinema 1
01:40 pm
Sat, 27 Aug 2022
Cinema 1
08:40 pm
Sat, 27 Aug 2022
Cinema 1
02:10 pm
Sun, 28 Aug 2022
Cinema 1
08:40 pm
Sun, 28 Aug 2022
Cinema 1
03:40 pm
Tue, 30 Aug 2022
Cinema 1
08:55 pm
Tue, 30 Aug 2022
Cinema 1
04:10 pm
Wed, 31 Aug 2022
Cinema 1
08:45 pm
Wed, 31 Aug 2022
Cinema 1
04:25 pm
Thu, 01 Sep 2022
Cinema 1
08:45 pm
Thu, 01 Sep 2022
Cinema 1
04:20 pm
Fri, 02 Sep 2022
Cinema 2
08:40 pm
Fri, 02 Sep 2022
Cinema 2
03:25 pm
Sat, 03 Sep 2022
Cinema 1
06:20 pm
Sat, 03 Sep 2022
Cinema 2
04:25 pm
Sun, 04 Sep 2022
Cinema 2
08:40 pm
Sun, 04 Sep 2022
Cinema 2
03:50 pm
Tue, 06 Sep 2022
Cinema 1
04:00 pm
Wed, 07 Sep 2022
Cinema 1
04:00 pm
Thu, 08 Sep 2022
Cinema 2
12:15 pm
Sun, 11 Sep 2022
Cinema 2
04:20 pm
Thu, 15 Sep 2022
Cinema 2
12:45 pm
Sat, 01 Oct 2022
Cinema 2
04:25 pm
Sun, 02 Oct 2022
Cinema 2
02:00 pm
Wed, 05 Oct 2022
Cinema 1

All films are ad-free and 18+ unless otherwise stated, and start with a 10 min. curated selection of trailers.

Red Members gain unlimited access to all exhibitions, films, talks, performances and Cinema 3.
Join today for £20/month.