We’re introducing Night Mode … Try it out with the sun/moon icon at the top left. Or change font settings with the ‘A’ to make the site work for you.
Got it
ICA is closed from the 30 May – 3 June inclusive.
0 / 256
We Still Dare to Fail: 20 years of LSFF + Q&A
Institute of Contemporary Arts
Nosebleed, dir. Luna Carmoon, UK 2018, 9 min.

Loki, Censor, Sex Education, Aftersun, A Banquet, We Are Lady Parts, The Afterlight, Pin Cushion, Medusa Deluxe, Pretty Red Dress. These films and TV shows share something in common - their creators all showed early short films at LSFF. We welcome those filmmakers to our opening night screening at ICA to celebrate the work and careers of our illustrious alumni, as a sequel of sorts to our 15th anniversary showcase in 2018. 

See where it all began with a programme with formative shorts from festivals past. Recent debut feature filmmakers Claire Oakley, Prano Bailey Bond, Thomas Hardiman and Dionne Edwards, and those now writing award-winning TV, including Kate Herron, Nida Manzoor and Runyararo Mapfumo. A very special 20-year celebration of the breadth of talent and creativity in UK filmmaking, with the filmmakers in attendance for some quick-fire Q&A rounds from each other and the audience.

She Wanted To Be Burnt, dir. Ruth Paxton, UK 2007, 12 min.
Arcade, dir. Nida Manzoor, UK 2013, 6 min.
House, dir. Prano Bailey Bond, UK 2013, 3 min.
Twinkle Twinkle, dir. Deborah Haywood, UK 2013, 10 min.
Tracks, dir. Claire Oakley, UK 2014, 13 min.
Radical Hardcore, dir. Thomas Hardiman, UK 2015, 5 min.
We Love Moses, dir. Dionne Edwards, UK 2016, 15 min.
Smear, dir. Kate Herron, UK 2017, 5 min.
Masterpiece, dir. Runyararo Mapfumo, UK 2017, 7 min.
Lasting Marks, dir. Charlie Shackleton, UK 2018, 15 min.
Nosebleed, dir. Luna Carmoon, UK 2018, 9 min.

All films are ad-free and 18+ unless otherwise stated, and start with a 10 min. curated selection of trailers.

Red Members gain unlimited access to all exhibitions, films, talks, performances and Cinema 3.
Join today for £20/month.