We’re introducing Night Mode … Try it out with the sun/moon icon at the top left. Or change font settings with the ‘A’ to make the site work for you.
Got it
0 / 256
Joyland
Institute of Contemporary Arts
In the night, two people joyfully lean on one another in an amusement park ride
Joyland, dir. Saim Sadiq, Pakistan 2022, 126 min., Urdu with English subtitles, 15

As the happily patriarchal Rana family craves for the birth of a baby boy, the youngest of the Rana men secretly joins an erotic dance theatre and finds himself falling for a fiercely ambitious trans starlet. Their impossible love story slowly illuminates the entire Rana family’s desire for a sexual rebellion.

Sam Sadiq’s debut feature film, two-time winner at the Cannes Film Festival (Un Certain Regard Jury Prize, Queer Palm), is a sensitive tale on friendship, love and sexual desire in ultra conservative Pakistan.
 
06:25 pm
Fri, 24 Feb 2023
Cinema 2
06:30 pm
Sat, 25 Feb 2023
Cinema 2
06:25 pm
Sun, 26 Feb 2023
Cinema 2
08:50 pm
Tue, 28 Feb 2023
Cinema 2
08:45 pm
Wed, 01 Mar 2023
Cinema 2
08:50 pm
Thu, 02 Mar 2023
Cinema 2
04:05 pm
Fri, 03 Mar 2023
Cinema 2
08:50 pm
Sat, 04 Mar 2023
Cinema 1
08:35 pm
Sun, 05 Mar 2023
Cinema 1
08:45 pm
Tue, 07 Mar 2023
Cinema 1
04:15 pm
Wed, 08 Mar 2023
Cinema 1
04:10 pm
Thu, 09 Mar 2023
Cinema 2
08:40 pm
Fri, 10 Mar 2023
Cinema 2
12:10 pm
Sat, 11 Mar 2023
Cinema 1
04:20 pm
Sun, 12 Mar 2023
Cinema 2
04:05 pm
Tue, 14 Mar 2023
Cinema 2
02:00 pm
Wed, 15 Mar 2023
Cinema 1
01:50 pm
Thu, 16 Mar 2023
Cinema 2
06:20 pm
Fri, 17 Mar 2023
Cinema 2
08:35 pm
Sat, 18 Mar 2023
Cinema 1
04:25 pm
Sun, 19 Mar 2023
Cinema 2
08:50 pm
Tue, 21 Mar 2023
Cinema 1
04:10 pm
Wed, 22 Mar 2023
Cinema 1
08:30 pm
Thu, 23 Mar 2023
Cinema 1
08:45 pm
Fri, 24 Mar 2023
Cinema 2
09:00 pm
Sat, 25 Mar 2023
Cinema 2
04:00 pm
Wed, 29 Mar 2023
Cinema 2
08:45 pm
Tue, 04 Apr 2023
Cinema 1
12:35 pm
Tue, 11 Apr 2023
Cinema 2
08:50 pm
Sat, 15 Apr 2023
Cinema 2
01:45 pm
Tue, 18 Apr 2023
Cinema 1
12:10 pm
Sat, 22 Apr 2023
Cinema 2

All films are ad-free and 18+ unless otherwise stated, and start with a 10 min. curated selection of trailers.

Red Members gain unlimited access to all exhibitions, films, talks, performances and Cinema 3.
Join today for £20/month.