0 / 256
Great Freedom
Institute of Contemporary Arts
December 2022
Great Freedom (Große Freiheit), dir. Sebastian Meise, Austria 2021, 116 min., German with English subtitles, 15


Winner of the Un Certain Regard Jury Prize at Cannes in 2021, Sebastian Meise’s captivating prison drama explores the life, loves and struggles of a man repeatedly jailed under post-war Germany’s repressive anti-homosexual laws – and the connection he forms with his cellmate, serving life for murder. 

West Germany, soon after the Second World War. Hans (Franz Rogowski) is in and out of jail for violating Paragraph 175, which outlaws the ‘unnatural sex act committed between persons of the male sex’. Hans finds a succession of lovers behind bars – but the heart of Great Freedom is the unexpected bond formed between Hans and his cellmate Viktor (Georg Friedrich), a murderer. Meise’s second feature (after 2011’s Still Life) is both a powerfully evocative period piece and a universal love story without boundaries – told with the help of two unforgettable central performances.
 
03:50 pm
Fri, 11 Mar 2022
Cinema 1
06:20 pm
Fri, 11 Mar 2022
Cinema 1
01:30 pm
Sat, 12 Mar 2022
Cinema 1
06:00 pm
Sat, 12 Mar 2022
Cinema 1
01:25 pm
Sun, 13 Mar 2022
Cinema 1
06:00 pm
Sun, 13 Mar 2022
Cinema 1
04:00 pm
Tue, 15 Mar 2022
Cinema 1
06:25 pm
Tue, 15 Mar 2022
Cinema 1
03:30 pm
Wed, 16 Mar 2022
Cinema 1
08:50 pm
Wed, 16 Mar 2022
Cinema 1
03:45 pm
Thu, 17 Mar 2022
Cinema 1
06:25 pm
Thu, 17 Mar 2022
Cinema 1
06:25 pm
Fri, 18 Mar 2022
Cinema 2
02:30 pm
Sat, 19 Mar 2022
Cinema 2
06:30 pm
Sun, 20 Mar 2022
Cinema 2
02:30 pm
Tue, 22 Mar 2022
Cinema 2
03:50 pm
Wed, 23 Mar 2022
Cinema 1
06:20 pm
Thu, 24 Mar 2022
Cinema 2
03:45 pm
Fri, 25 Mar 2022
Cinema 1
03:20 pm
Sun, 27 Mar 2022
Cinema 1
03:00 pm
Wed, 30 Mar 2022
Cinema 2
Weekday matinees: £8 Full, £6 Concessions, £4 Green/Blue Members

Face coverings are compulsory in the Cinemas. More on COVID-19 safety

All films are ad-free and 18+ unless otherwise stated, and start with a 10 min. curated selection of trailers.

Red Members gain unlimited access to all exhibitions, films, talks, performances and Cinema 3.
Join today for £20/month.