We’re introducing Night Mode … Try it out with the sun/moon icon at the top left. Or change font settings with the ‘A’ to make the site work for you.
Got it
ICA is closed from the 30 May – 2 June inclusive.
0 / 256
EO
Institute of Contemporary Arts
A donkey waits in a bare red-lit room. There is a rope tied between the walls
EO, dir. Jerzy Skolimowski, Poland / Italy 2022, 88 min., Polish & Italian with English subtitles, 15

Directed and co-written by Jerzy Skolimowski, EO is a strikingly beautiful and mesmerising vision of modern Europe through the eyes of a donkey, who embarks on an epic journey, experiencing cruelty and kindness, while bearing witness to the follies and triumphs of humanity.

EO, a grey donkey with melancholic eyes and a curious spirit, begins his life as a circus performer before escaping on a trek across the Polish and Italian countryside. During his travels, he encounters an eclectic cast of characters, including a countess (Isabelle Huppert), a young Italian priest (Lorenzo Zurzolo) and a riotous Polish football team. EO’s journey speaks to the world around us, an equine hero boldly pointing out societal ills, and serving as a warning to the dangers of neglect and inaction, all while on a quest for freedom. Inspired by Robert Bresson’s 1966 film Au Hasard Balthazar, legendary filmmaker Jerzy Skolimowski’s visually inventive film places the viewer directly in the heart and mind of the four-legged protagonist.
 
06:30 pm
Fri, 03 Feb 2023
Cinema 2
06:05 pm
Sat, 04 Feb 2023
Cinema 2
06:00 pm
Sun, 05 Feb 2023
Cinema 2
05:00 pm
Tue, 07 Feb 2023
Cinema 2
06:30 pm
Wed, 08 Feb 2023
Cinema 2
05:00 pm
Thu, 09 Feb 2023
Cinema 2
01:20 pm
Fri, 10 Feb 2023
Cinema 2
05:00 pm
Tue, 14 Feb 2023
Cinema 1
08:30 pm
Wed, 15 Feb 2023
Cinema 2
03:00 pm
Thu, 16 Feb 2023
Cinema 2
12:10 pm
Sat, 18 Feb 2023
Cinema 1
12:10 pm
Sun, 19 Feb 2023
Cinema 1
02:20 pm
Fri, 24 Feb 2023
Cinema 2
12:10 pm
Sat, 25 Feb 2023
Cinema 1
12:10 pm
Sun, 26 Feb 2023
Cinema 1
09:10 pm
Thu, 09 Mar 2023
Cinema 2
On Wednesday 1 Feb, as an exception, the ICA Cinemas will be closed for the 75th anniversary event P-R-E-S-E-N-T

All films are ad-free and 18+ unless otherwise stated, and start with a 10 min. curated selection of trailers.

Red Members gain unlimited access to all exhibitions, films, talks, performances and Cinema 3.
Join today for £20/month.