Become an ICA Member or gift it to someone you love
0 / 256
Drive My Car
Institute of Contemporary Arts
May 2022
Drive My Car, dir. Ryusuke Hamaguchi, Japan  2021, 179 min., Japanese with English subtitles, 15


Haruki Murakami’s piercing short story about the mysteries of love and grief arrives in cinemas courtesy of director Ryusuke Hamaguchi – a potent adaptation that won three awards at this year’s Cannes Film Festival.

Yūsuke, a theatre director, and Oto, a screenwriter, enjoy a marriage that’s both happy and fragile, haunted by the earlier death of their young daughter. When Oto dies suddenly, Yūsuke retreats into himself and the pleasures of his treasured red Saab. But when he’s invited to direct Chekhov’s Uncle Vanya in Hiroshima, far from his Tokyo home, he’s forced to face up to the secrets of his past – alongside Misaki, a taciturn young woman assigned to be his chauffeur. 

Also screening: Wheel of Fortune and Fantasy
 
02:30 pm
Fri, 19 Nov 2021
Cinema 1
06:00 pm
Fri, 19 Nov 2021
Cinema 1
03:00 pm
Sat, 20 Nov 2021
Cinema 1
08:25 pm
Sat, 20 Nov 2021
Cinema 2
01:45 pm
Sun, 21 Nov 2021
Cinema 2
12:40 pm
Tue, 23 Nov 2021
Cinema 1
08:30 pm
Tue, 23 Nov 2021
Cinema 2
06:05 pm
Wed, 24 Nov 2021
Cinema 1
06:00 pm
Thu, 25 Nov 2021
Cinema 2
03:10 pm
Fri, 26 Nov 2021
Cinema 2
08:50 pm
Sat, 27 Nov 2021
Cinema 2
03:10 pm
Sun, 28 Nov 2021
Cinema 2
02:30 pm
Tue, 30 Nov 2021
Cinema 1
01:30 pm
Wed, 01 Dec 2021
Cinema 2
08:50 pm
Thu, 02 Dec 2021
Cinema 2
05:30 pm
Sat, 04 Dec 2021
Cinema 2
06:00 pm
Sun, 05 Dec 2021
Cinema 2
03:15 pm
Tue, 07 Dec 2021
Cinema 1
02:00 pm
Wed, 08 Dec 2021
Cinema 1
05:45 pm
Thu, 09 Dec 2021
Cinema 1
06:00 pm
Fri, 10 Dec 2021
Cinema 2
01:00 pm
Sat, 11 Dec 2021
Cinema 1
05:00 pm
Sat, 11 Dec 2021
Cinema 2
12:30 pm
Sun, 12 Dec 2021
Cinema 1
05:00 pm
Sun, 12 Dec 2021
Cinema 2
06:00 pm
Tue, 14 Dec 2021
Cinema 2
06:00 pm
Wed, 15 Dec 2021
Cinema 2
06:00 pm
Thu, 16 Dec 2021
Cinema 2
05:15 pm
Sat, 18 Dec 2021
Cinema 1
05:15 pm
Sun, 19 Dec 2021
Cinema 1
05:15 pm
Tue, 21 Dec 2021
Cinema 1
02:50 pm
Tue, 04 Jan 2022
Cinema 1
03:00 pm
Wed, 05 Jan 2022
Cinema 1
03:15 pm
Thu, 06 Jan 2022
Cinema 1
12:15 pm
Fri, 14 Jan 2022
Cinema 1
12:05 pm
Sun, 16 Jan 2022
Cinema 2
12:45 pm
Tue, 18 Jan 2022
Cinema 1
12:45 pm
Wed, 19 Jan 2022
Cinema 1
12:45 pm
Thu, 20 Jan 2022
Cinema 1
03:30 pm
Fri, 21 Jan 2022
Cinema 1
07:15 pm
Sat, 22 Jan 2022
Cinema 2
05:05 pm
Sun, 23 Jan 2022
Cinema 2
02:50 pm
Tue, 25 Jan 2022
Cinema 1
12:30 pm
Wed, 26 Jan 2022
Cinema 2
05:00 pm
Thu, 27 Jan 2022
Cinema 2
08:05 pm
Fri, 28 Jan 2022
Cinema 2
07:45 pm
Sun, 30 Jan 2022
Cinema 2
08:05 pm
Tue, 01 Feb 2022
Cinema 2
08:10 pm
Wed, 02 Feb 2022
Cinema 2
08:05 pm
Thu, 03 Feb 2022
Cinema 2
12:30 pm
Sat, 05 Feb 2022
Cinema 2
12:20 pm
Wed, 09 Feb 2022
Cinema 1
02:40 pm
Tue, 15 Feb 2022
Cinema 1
03:00 pm
Wed, 16 Feb 2022
Cinema 1
02:45 pm
Thu, 17 Feb 2022
Cinema 1
02:40 pm
Fri, 18 Feb 2022
Cinema 1
12:10 pm
Sat, 19 Feb 2022
Cinema 1
12:10 pm
Sun, 20 Feb 2022
Cinema 1
02:30 pm
Tue, 22 Feb 2022
Cinema 1
08:00 pm
Wed, 23 Feb 2022
Cinema 2
03:20 pm
Thu, 24 Feb 2022
Cinema 1
03:00 pm
Fri, 25 Feb 2022
Cinema 1
12:15 pm
Sat, 26 Feb 2022
Cinema 1
02:50 pm
Sun, 27 Feb 2022
Cinema 2
03:00 pm
Tue, 01 Mar 2022
Cinema 1
03:20 pm
Thu, 03 Mar 2022
Cinema 2
03:15 pm
Fri, 04 Mar 2022
Cinema 1
07:45 pm
Sat, 05 Mar 2022
Cinema 2
07:45 pm
Sun, 06 Mar 2022
Cinema 2
02:35 pm
Tue, 08 Mar 2022
Cinema 1
03:10 pm
Wed, 09 Mar 2022
Cinema 2
05:15 pm
Fri, 11 Mar 2022
Cinema 2
07:45 pm
Sat, 12 Mar 2022
Cinema 2
02:45 pm
Sun, 13 Mar 2022
Cinema 2
05:15 pm
Tue, 15 Mar 2022
Cinema 2
02:50 pm
Wed, 16 Mar 2022
Cinema 2
03:00 pm
Fri, 18 Mar 2022
Cinema 1
12:30 pm
Sat, 19 Mar 2022
Cinema 1
06:10 pm
Sun, 20 Mar 2022
Cinema 1
12:45 pm
Tue, 22 Mar 2022
Cinema 1
08:05 pm
Thu, 24 Mar 2022
Cinema 1
08:10 pm
Fri, 25 Mar 2022
Cinema 2
05:45 pm
Sat, 26 Mar 2022
Cinema 2
05:45 pm
Sun, 27 Mar 2022
Cinema 2
08:10 pm
Tue, 29 Mar 2022
Cinema 2
05:20 pm
Wed, 30 Mar 2022
Cinema 2
12:45 pm
Sat, 02 Apr 2022
Cinema 2
01:00 pm
Tue, 05 Apr 2022
Cinema 1
01:00 pm
Thu, 07 Apr 2022
Cinema 1
£13 Full, £11 Concessions, £6.50 Green/Blue Members

Tuesday matinees: £6, £3 Green/Blue Members

Face coverings are compulsory in the Cinemas. More on COVID-19 safety

All films are ad-free and 18+ unless otherwise stated.

Red Members gain unlimited access to all exhibitions, films, talks, concerts, performances and Cinema 3.
Join today for £20/month.