We’re introducing Night Mode … Try it out with the sun/moon icon at the top left. Or change font settings with the ‘A’ to make the site work for you.
Got it
The ICA will be on general strike on Fri 20 Oct. Read more
0 / 256
Blue Bag Life
Institute of Contemporary Arts
A bed in a house, in red spray paint 'MUM' is written on the wall above, a heart sprayed onto the pillow, and the letters 'R.I.P.'
Blue Bag Life, dir. Rebecca Lloyd-Evans, Lisa Selby & Alex Fry, UK 2022, 90 min., English, 15

Blue heroin baggies symbolise a lifetime of rejection for Lisa. Since childhood, the narcotic has been an intrusive and destructive presence, through her relationship with her addict mother and partner. When her mother dies and her partner’s relapse leads to his incarceration, Lisa embarks on a cinematic pilgrimage of self-discovery and salvation. Through it, she becomes determined that the indelible mark addiction has left upon her will be transformed into something positive.

Blue Bag Life is a raw yet deeply moving journey through the world of addiction. Unflinching in its portrayal of the darkness addicts enter into, as well as the stigma that accompanies it, Selby’s film is nevertheless an emotionally resonant love story that champions hope over despair.
 
08:40 pm
Fri, 07 Apr 2023
Cinema 2
05:00 pm
Sat, 08 Apr 2023
Cinema 2
05:00 pm
Sun, 09 Apr 2023
Cinema 2
05:00 pm
Tue, 11 Apr 2023
Cinema 2
05:00 pm
Wed, 12 Apr 2023
Cinema 2
08:40 pm
Thu, 13 Apr 2023
Cinema 2
04:30 pm
Fri, 14 Apr 2023
Cinema 1
12:20 pm
Sat, 15 Apr 2023
Cinema 1
08:55 pm
Sun, 16 Apr 2023
Cinema 1
08:50 pm
Thu, 20 Apr 2023
Cinema 1
02:35 pm
Sat, 22 Apr 2023
Cinema 2

All films are ad-free and 18+ unless otherwise stated, and start with a 10 min. curated selection of trailers.

Red Members gain unlimited access to all exhibitions, films, talks, performances and Cinema 3.
Join today for £20/month.