Sarah Pucill Selected Films 1990-2010


The films of award-winning British artist Sarah Pucill have been celebrated at film festivals world-wide and shown in cinemas and galleries internationally. At the core of her practice is a concern with mortality and the materiality of the filmmaking process. Many of her earlier films take place within the confinements of domestic space, where the grounded reality of the house itself becomes a portal to a complex and multi-layered psychical realm. Her most recent film Phantom Rhapsody (2010) marks a new departure. In its stark use of black and white, the film examines the appearance and disappearance of the phantom as it relates to the partial visibility of lesbian sexuality in the canons of both cinema and art history. The DVD consists of seven selected films spanning the two decades of Pucill’s practice.


You Be Mother, 1990, 7 min

Backcomb, 1995, 6 min

Swollen Stigma, 1998, 20 min

Cast, 2000, 17 min

Stages Of Mourning, 2004, 17 min

Taking My Skin, 2006, 35 min

Phantom Rhapsody, 2010, 19 min

Extras 26 page booklet with full film notes and 3 newly-commissioned essays by Lucy Reynolds, Cherry Smyth, and Margherita Sprio.