Independent Ideas need Independent Funding. Subscribe to ICA Red Membership today.
Sign Up for
ICA Daily
The Wild Boys
Institute of Contemporary Arts

The Wild Boys (Les garçons sauvages), Dir. Bertrand Mandico, France, 2017, 110 mins, French language with English subtitles

This intoxicating, gender-bending adventure, shot in black and white with richly saturated colour effects, is modelled after William S. Burroughs apocalyptic novel from the early 1970s. Fantasy, eroticism, violence and mystery engulf a group of young, privileged teenage boys, cast away from the island of La Réunion for committing a sadistic crime. The boys, all played by women, are ferried to sea by a Dutch Captain, charged with reforming their savage ways. They soon stage a rebellion and are released from the captain’s grip after a shipwreck and into the wilds of a supernatural island. There, among the mutant vegetation and phallic fruits, the wild boys act upon their abject sexual desires and undergo a mystical transformation.

This is an ICA CINEMA distribution project, the film is available for theatrical booking.
 
06:30 pm
Fri, 11 May 2018
Cinema 1
03:45 pm
Sat, 12 May 2018
Cinema 1
08:50 pm
Sat, 12 May 2018
Cinema 1
01:30 pm
Sun, 13 May 2018
Cinema 1
06:30 pm
Sun, 13 May 2018
Cinema 2
06:30 pm
Tue, 15 May 2018
Cinema 1
06:30 pm
Wed, 16 May 2018
Cinema 2
06:30 pm
Thu, 17 May 2018
Cinema 2
03:35 pm
Fri, 18 May 2018
Cinema 1
02:00 pm
Sat, 19 May 2018
Cinema 2
04:00 pm
Sun, 20 May 2018
Cinema 2
08:40 pm
Tue, 22 May 2018
Cinema 2
04:10 pm
Wed, 23 May 2018
Cinema 2
02:05 pm
Sat, 26 May 2018
Cinema 2
02:10 pm
Wed, 30 May 2018
Cinema 2
04:05 pm
Tue, 05 Jun 2018
Cinema 2
02:25 pm
Sun, 10 Jun 2018
Cinema 2

All films are ad-free and 18+ unless otherwise stated. Groups are advised to arrive early as seating is unallocated.

ICA Red Membership includes free access to all programmes for £20 / month. Subscribe today.