Become an ICA Member or gift it to someone you love
Une Femme Douce
Institute of Contemporary Arts

Une Femme Douce, dir. Robert Bresson, France 1969, 88 min., French with English subtitles


Fifty years after its first release, this 2K digital restoration of Robert Bresson’s first colour film is a testament to the director’s cinematic poise.

Adapted from Dostoevsky’s 1876 short story, A Gentle Creature, and transposed to 1960s Paris, Une Femme Douce (A Gentle Woman) (1969) is a tragic portrayal of a young woman’s demise.

Recently married, Elle (played by Dominique Sanda in her first screen role) is in a state of crisis, trampled by the impact of her crumbling relationship. In the wake of her sudden death, her husband (Guy Frangin) reflects on their unhappy marriage through a moving sequence of flashbacks.

Une Femme Douce is presented as part of Cinema Rediscovered on Tour, a Watershed project with support from BFI awarding funds from The National Lottery.
 
06:30 pm
Fri, 02 Aug 2019
Cinema 2
02:30 pm
Sun, 04 Aug 2019
Cinema 2
04:30 pm
Tue, 06 Aug 2019
Cinema 2
06:30 pm
Thu, 08 Aug 2019
Cinema 2
03:50 pm
Sat, 10 Aug 2019
Cinema 1
03:50 pm
Sun, 11 Aug 2019
Cinema 1
02:00 pm
Tue, 13 Aug 2019
Cinema 2
08:55 pm
Wed, 14 Aug 2019
Cinema 2
02:30 pm
Thu, 15 Aug 2019
Cinema 2
02:20 pm
Fri, 16 Aug 2019
Cinema 1
04:30 pm
Sun, 18 Aug 2019
Cinema 1
02:25 pm
Tue, 20 Aug 2019
Cinema 1

£13 Full, £11 Concs/Green, £7 Blue Members. 

Tuesdays + weekday matinees: £8 Full, £5 Concs/Blue/Green Members.

All films are ad-free and 18+ unless otherwise stated.

All programme on Cinema 3 is free to ICA members. Join today to enjoy membership benefits.