Become an ICA Member or gift it to someone you love
Girl
Institute of Contemporary Arts

Girl, dir. Lukas Dhont, Belgium 2018, 106 mins, English and Flemish and French with English subtitles


The feature filmmaking debut from writer-director Lukas Dhont, Girl is a moving coming-of-age tale about identity and the journey of self-affirmation. 

Lara is a 15 year-old woman fiercely committed to becoming a professional ballerina. Joining a new school, usual frustrations and challenges of adolescence are heightened as her body does not bend easily to the strict ballet discipline, being born a boy. Despite her stressful surrounding and with the support of her family, Lara prepares for reassignment surgery, pushing her body to its limits. 

Inspired by real-life events, the award-winning Girl, Camera d’Or for best first feature at the 2018 Cannes Film Festival, is a powerful and sensitively told story about the nuances of growing up transgender and the struggle that can motivate or define that process.

 
04:10 pm
Fri, 15 Mar 2019
Cinema 1
06:20 pm
Fri, 15 Mar 2019
Cinema 2
04:10 pm
Sat, 16 Mar 2019
Cinema 1
06:45 pm
Sat, 16 Mar 2019
Cinema 2
04:20 pm
Sun, 17 Mar 2019
Cinema 1
06:35 pm
Sun, 17 Mar 2019
Cinema 2
07:10 pm
Tue, 19 Mar 2019
Cinema 2
06:25 pm
Wed, 20 Mar 2019
Cinema 1
07:10 pm
Thu, 21 Mar 2019
Cinema 2
06:25 pm
Fri, 22 Mar 2019
Cinema 2
04:20 pm
Sat, 23 Mar 2019
Cinema 2
04:20 pm
Sun, 24 Mar 2019
Cinema 2
06:25 pm
Tue, 26 Mar 2019
Cinema 2
02:00 pm
Wed, 27 Mar 2019
Cinema 1
01:45 pm
Sun, 31 Mar 2019
Cinema 2
01:50 pm
Wed, 03 Apr 2019
Cinema 2
05:00 pm
Thu, 04 Apr 2019
Cinema 2

All films are ad-free and 18+ unless otherwise stated.

All programme on Cinema 3 is free to ICA members. Join today to enjoy membership benefits.