Members get FREE access to Cinema 3. Join today.
Sign up
to emails
Free Solo
Institute of Contemporary Arts

Free Solo, Dirs. Elizabeth Chai Vasarhelyi and Jimmy Chin, USA 2018, 100 min, English


An unflinching portrait of free soloist climber Alex Honnold by award-winning husband-and-wife team Elizabeth Chai Vasarhelyi and Jimmy Chin, the directors behind the 2015 mountaineering movie, Meru.

Free Solo follows Honnold as he prepares to scale the three-thousand-foot El Capitan in Yosemite National Park with nothing other than his bare hands. Described by The New York Times as ‘one of the great athletic feats of any kind, ever’, the climb is a testament to the extremity of Honnold’s single-minded ambition.
 
09:10 pm
Fri, 04 Jan 2019
Cinema 2
02:00 pm
Sat, 05 Jan 2019
Cinema 2
06:40 pm
Sun, 06 Jan 2019
Cinema 2
02:10 pm
Thu, 10 Jan 2019
Cinema 2
04:20 pm
Sat, 12 Jan 2019
Cinema 2
04:45 pm
Tue, 15 Jan 2019
Cinema 2
04:45 pm
Fri, 18 Jan 2019
Cinema 2
02:10 pm
Sat, 19 Jan 2019
Cinema 2
04:30 pm
Tue, 22 Jan 2019
Cinema 2
04:30 pm
Wed, 23 Jan 2019
Cinema 2
12:25 pm
Sun, 27 Jan 2019
Cinema 2
01:45 pm
Wed, 30 Jan 2019
Cinema 1
04:15 pm
Fri, 01 Feb 2019
Cinema 2
02:30 pm
Sun, 03 Feb 2019
Cinema 2
02:30 pm
Tue, 05 Feb 2019
Cinema 2
04:15 pm
Wed, 06 Feb 2019
Cinema 2
06:15 pm
Thu, 07 Feb 2019
Cinema 2
05:05 pm
Fri, 08 Feb 2019
Cinema 2
02:00 pm
Sat, 09 Feb 2019
Cinema 2
05:05 pm
Tue, 12 Feb 2019
Cinema 2
04:20 pm
Wed, 13 Feb 2019
Cinema 2
12:45 pm
Sat, 16 Feb 2019
Cinema 1
02:20 pm
Thu, 21 Feb 2019
Cinema 2
09:00 pm
Fri, 22 Feb 2019
Cinema 2
01:45 pm
Sat, 23 Feb 2019
Cinema 2
01:45 pm
Sun, 24 Feb 2019
Cinema 2
01:55 pm
Wed, 27 Feb 2019
Cinema 2
01:50 pm
Thu, 28 Feb 2019
Cinema 2
04:10 pm
Fri, 01 Mar 2019
Cinema 2
04:10 pm
Sun, 03 Mar 2019
Cinema 2
08:35 pm
Wed, 06 Mar 2019
Cinema 2
04:10 pm
Thu, 07 Mar 2019
Cinema 2
02:00 pm
Sat, 09 Mar 2019
Cinema 2
02:00 pm
Sun, 10 Mar 2019
Cinema 2
01:45 pm
Wed, 13 Mar 2019
Cinema 2
01:45 pm
Thu, 14 Mar 2019
Cinema 2
02:00 pm
Fri, 15 Mar 2019
Cinema 1
02:00 pm
Tue, 19 Mar 2019
Cinema 1
08:35 pm
Wed, 03 Apr 2019
Cinema 1

£13 full, £11 concs. Tuesdays + weekday matinees: £8 full, £5 concs.

All films are ad-free and 18+ unless otherwise stated.

All programme on Cinema 3 is free to ICA members from £10 / month. Join today to enjoy membership benefits.