0 / 256
Extinction
Institute of Contemporary Arts
February 2023
Extinction (Extinção), Dir. Salomé Lamas, Germany / Portugal 2018, 80 min., Russian with English subtitles


Hypnotic and multi-layered, Extinction (Extinção), meditates on the troubled borders of Eastern Europe with melancholic lyricism. Shot in black and white, Salomé Lamas's filmic essay follows Kolya, a young man loyal to Transnistria, the Communist state that broke away from the former Moldavian Soviet Socialist Republic, which is unrecognized by the international community today.
 
Navigating through dreamlike echoes of the Soviet past and Kolya's politically charged encounters in the present, the film slowly builds up an associative, non-linear story of a landscape in which the borders between past and present remain unsettled.

This film is an ICA CINEMA distribution project and is available for theatrical booking from 20 July.
 
06:45 pm
Fri, 20 Jul 2018
Cinema 1
06:45 pm
Sat, 21 Jul 2018
Cinema 1
06:45 pm
Sun, 22 Jul 2018
Cinema 2
06:45 pm
Tue, 24 Jul 2018
Cinema 1
06:45 pm
Thu, 26 Jul 2018
Cinema 2
12:55 pm
Sat, 28 Jul 2018
Cinema 2
06:45 pm
Sun, 29 Jul 2018
Cinema 2
04:45 pm
Tue, 31 Jul 2018
Cinema 2
02:25 pm
Sat, 04 Aug 2018
Cinema 2
02:45 pm
Thu, 09 Aug 2018
Cinema 1

All films are ad-free and 18+ unless otherwise stated, and start with a 10 min. curated selection of trailers.

Red Members gain unlimited access to all exhibitions, films, talks, performances and Cinema 3.
Join today for £20/month.