Become an ICA Member or gift it to someone you love
0 / 256
Black Mother
Institute of Contemporary Arts
August 2022
Black Mother, Dir. Khalik Allah, USA, 2018, 77 mins, English


Lyrical and haunting, Black Mother is a film-poem to Jamaica, conjuring up the island in a polyphony of voices, textures and tales. Moving between different speakers, the film intertwines the prayers of priests with the accounts of cancer survivors, the oral histories of maroon descendants with the testimonies of sex workers, to capture the plurality and idiosyncrasy of its overlapping worlds.
 
With a photographer’s eye for detail, director Khalik Allah interweaves Jamaican’s stories into a complex tapestry of encounters which border on the sublime. Probing the line between imagination and history, the film renders the island landscape as a creative force, a space not only shaped by histories of slavery and colonialism but also continuously evolving through new webs of relation.
The film premiered in the UK as part of FRAMES of REPRESENTATION 2018.
 
08:50 pm
Fri, 02 Nov 2018
Cinema 2
06:05 pm
Sat, 03 Nov 2018
Cinema 2
06:05 pm
Sun, 04 Nov 2018
Cinema 2
08:50 pm
Tue, 06 Nov 2018
Cinema 1
06:05 pm
Wed, 07 Nov 2018
Cinema 2
08:55 pm
Thu, 08 Nov 2018
Cinema 2
05:20 pm
Fri, 09 Nov 2018
Cinema 2
12:30 pm
Sat, 10 Nov 2018
Cinema 1
06:35 pm
Sun, 11 Nov 2018
Cinema 2
05:15 pm
Tue, 13 Nov 2018
Cinema 2
04:15 pm
Wed, 14 Nov 2018
Cinema 2
08:05 pm
Thu, 15 Nov 2018
Cinema 2
05:25 pm
Fri, 16 Nov 2018
Cinema 2
12:35 pm
Sat, 17 Nov 2018
Cinema 2
12:35 pm
Sun, 18 Nov 2018
Cinema 2
12:30 pm
Sat, 24 Nov 2018
Cinema 2
02:15 pm
Sun, 25 Nov 2018
Cinema 2
05:05 pm
Thu, 06 Dec 2018
Cinema 1
On Tuesday 30 October, the preview screening of Black Mother is introduced by director Khalik Allah.

All films are ad-free and 18+ unless otherwise stated.

Red Members gain unlimited access to all exhibitions, films, talks, performances and Cinema 3.
Join today for £20/month.